Picos 2011 The details

Elsewhere on this blog the contents of my rucksack are detailed. Out of all of the kit I brought very little wasn’t used: Sunglasses -my brimmed hat did the job fine. First aid kit -was only opened for the knee support bandages and (when I remembered) my antihistamines for hayfever  -which never actually bothered me. The ‘spares and repairs’ bag was opened to get out the box of matches when my lighter died on me.

Navigation-wise the route cards I had prepared at home were a handy reference each day, also the making of them and the study of the map that they required got the route in pretty good detail into my head. -I’d never planned navigation to such detail before but I certainly will do again. On a day to day basis, I’d get the map out many times, check the compass a few times and look at a grid reference from the GPS once or twice. I made perhaps half a dozen GPS way points each day, in case of getting lost or needing to retrace my steps due to weather -mist was my major concern.

It was easy to see where slack navigation would have led me astray, after all I have been lost in the Picos before, but I’m older and wiser now! (maybe).

Carrying a 20+kg backpack through the Picos is hard work. My daily distances were short and the hours walked each day were between 2 (final day) and 10 hours. Going hut to hut would certainly make life easier but I would still want minimal bivi equipment, just in case.

 

I was very fortunate with the weather. Only one day had ‘bad weather’ -this wasn’t the case on previous trips. Mist rolls in frequently and rapidly.

About lordyosch

Dad, Husband, School teacher

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Backpacking, Picos de Europa. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

